Connect with us


Unveiling a symbol of heritage, culture



The flag of Hawaii stands as a distinctive and historically significant emblem. Its vibrant design not only captures the eye but also carries profound symbolism for the sub-national territory.

Want to learn more about what shaped this flag’s design and how it distinguishes itself from others? Continue reading this piece.

What is the Hawaii Flag?

What is the Hawaii Flag?

The flag of Hawaii, also known as the “Hawaiian Flag” or “Ka Hae Hawai’i” in the Hawaiian language, consists of a distinctive design with a Union Jack (the flag of the United Kingdom) in the upper left corner and a field of eight alternating horizontal stripes of white, red, and blue. These stripes represent the eight main Hawaiian Islands, which are, from northwest to southeast: Ni’ihau, Kaua’i, O’ahu, Moloka’i, Lana’i, Kaho’olawe, Maui, and Hawai’i (often referred to as the “Big Island”).

ALSO READ: Nigerian flag: Composition, history, designer, meaning, importance

The sequence of colours in the stripes, from top to bottom, follows this order: white, red, blue, white, red, blue, white and red. These colours were standardised in 1843, although different combinations have been observed and are occasionally still used.

In a 2001 survey conducted by the North American Vexillological Association (NAVA), Hawaii’s flag was ranked 11th in terms of design quality among the 72 flags of U.S. states, Canadian provinces, and territories that were assessed.

While the Hawaiian flag may appear somewhat similar to the flags of British Overseas Territories, it has different proportions.

Hawaii Flag History

Hawaii Flag History

The history of the flag of Hawaii is a complex and fascinating journey that reflects the state’s evolving political status and cultural heritage.

The Kingdom of Hawaii (1810-1893)

Hawaii’s history as a unified kingdom began under the rule of King Kamehameha I, who successfully united the Hawaiian Islands in 1810. During this era, the Hawaiian flag took on a distinctive design known as the “Hawaiian Royal Standard.” This flag featured eight horizontal stripes in alternating red, white, and blue, with the Union Jack, the flag of the United Kingdom, positioned in the upper-left corner. The inclusion of the Union Jack was symbolic of the friendly relations between Hawaii and the British Empire.

The overthrow of the Hawaiian Monarchy (1893)

In 1893, a group of American businessmen, supported by U.S. Marines, orchestrated a coup against Queen Lili’uokalani, the last reigning monarch of Hawaii. This event marked a turning point in Hawaiian history and led to the overthrow of the Hawaiian monarchy. Subsequently, the American flag temporarily replaced the Hawaiian flag.

Annexation of Hawaii (1898)

In 1898, Hawaii was officially annexed by the United States, transitioning from an independent nation to a U.S. territory. This change in political status had a profound impact on the design of the Hawaiian flag. The flag of Hawaii at this stage retained its Union Jack in the upper-left corner but featured eight horizontal stripes representing the eight primary Hawaiian Islands.

The Modern Flag of Hawaii

The contemporary flag of Hawaii preserves its distinctive design, which is laden with symbolism reflecting both the state’s historical roots. The flag comprises eight horizontal stripes in the following order from top to bottom: white, red, blue, white, red, blue, white, and red. The Union Jack remains in the upper-left corner, echoing Hawaii’s historical connection with the United Kingdom.

ALSO READ: What you need to know about non-binary flag

Hawaii Flag Meaning

The flag of Hawaii carries a rich and meaningful representation of the state’s history, culture, and unique identity. Here’s an exploration of the meaning behind the elements of the Hawaiian flag:

1. Union Jack

The most prominent element of the Hawaiian flag is the Union Jack, which is the flag of the United Kingdom. This inclusion harks back to Hawaii’s historical ties with the British Empire. It symbolises the friendly relations that existed between Hawaii and the British during the early 19th century when King Kamehameha I unified the Hawaiian Islands.

2. Eight Horizontal Stripes

The eight horizontal stripes of the flag, in alternating white, red, and blue, carry significant meaning. Each stripe represents one of the eight main Hawaiian Islands, which are, from northwest to southeast: Ni’ihau, Kaua’i, O’ahu, Moloka’i, Lana’i, Kaho’olawe, Maui, and Hawai’i (often referred to as the “Big Island”).

These stripes symbolise the geographical diversity and cultural richness of Hawaii, acknowledging the unique characteristics of each island. They highlight the interconnectedness of these islands as a single state while celebrating their individuality.

3. Unity and Diversity

The flag of Hawaii embodies the concept of unity in diversity. While the eight stripes represent different islands with their unique characteristics and cultures, they are bound together on a single flag. This reflects the unity and harmony that exist among the people of Hawaii, regardless of their island of origin or cultural background.

Hawaii Flag colours

The flag of Hawaii features three main colours: white, red and blue. These colours are arranged in a specific pattern on the flag, creating a distinctive and meaningful design. Here is an overview of the colours and their arrangement on the Hawaiian flag:

  1. White: White is one of the primary colours on the Hawaiian flag and is used as the background for the flag’s design. It appears as horizontal stripes and serves as a backdrop for the other colours.
  2. Red: Red is another prominent colour on the Hawaiian flag and is used for the horizontal stripes as well. The red stripes alternate with the white and blue stripes, creating a visually striking pattern.
  3. Blue: Blue is the third primary colour on the flag and is used for the horizontal stripes, similar to the red and white stripes. The blue stripes also alternate with the other colours.

The specific arrangement of these colours on the flag of Hawaii is as follows: from top to bottom, the stripes are white, red, blue, white, red, blue, white, and red. This alternating pattern of colours is not only aesthetically pleasing but also carries significant symbolism related to the state’s history and culture.

ALSO READ: What you have to know about agender flag

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Get Daily Updates Here